Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs Announces Funding Opportunity for Regional Recovery Hubs

The Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs (DDAP) announced the availability of more than $4 million in grant funding for the establishment of regional recovery hubs to enhance recovery supports and promote recovery within communities across Pennsylvania.

“The creation of these regional recovery hubs furthers DDAP’s commitment to supporting an individual’s recovery journey,” said DDAP Secretary Jen Smith. “By establishing this hub and spoke model, each of the regional recovery hubs will be able to work in partnership with recovery community leaders to conduct ongoing needs assessment through surveys and focus groups and provide technical assistance to organizations providing recovery supports that will enhance and promote recovery within each particular region.”

The nine regional recovery hubs throughout Pennsylvania will be designed to work to embed, expand, and promote a Recovery-Oriented-System of Care in each region using a hub and spoke model. Each regional “hub” will support community-driven services that will serve as “spokes.” Each hub will provide technical assistance and collaborate with a variety of community entities, sectors, and systems to enhance a recovery-supportive community and facilitate recovery support service delivery.

Grants up to $500,000 each will be awarded for 15-month period beginning July 1, 2023 through September 29, 2024 and awarded to 9 eligible applicants from the various regions:

Region 1: Philadelphia County
Region 2: Allegheny County
Region 3: Erie County
Region 4: Montgomery, Bucks, Berks, Chester, Lancaster, Delaware, and Schuylkill counties
Region 5: York, Adams, Franklin, Fulton, Bedford, Cumberland, Perry, Dauphin, Lebanon, Huntington, Mifflin, Juniata, and Blair counties
Region 6: Beaver, Butler, Armstrong, Indiana, Cambria, Washington, Westmoreland, Greene, Fayette, and Somerset counties
Region 7: Crawford, Mercer, Lawrence, Venango, Warren, Forest, Clarion, McKean, Elk, Cameron, Jefferson, and Clearfield counties
Region 8: Potter, Tioga, Bradford, Clinton, Lycoming, Sullivan, Centre, Union, Snyder, Montour, Columbia, and Northumberland counties
Region 9: Susquehanna, Wayne, Wyoming, Lackawanna, Luzerne, Carbon, Monroe, Pike, Lehigh, and Northumberland counties

To be eligible, applicants must:

  1. Be a nonprofit organization or governmental entity;
  2. Have a physical location within the region they are applying;
  3. Demonstrate the ability to meet the deliverables of this grant separate and distinct from the clinical treatment services offered if they are a DDAP-licensed treatment provider who are a nonprofit organization.