Six Counties Return to Normal and 15 Counties Remain in Drought Watch or Drought Warning

The Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection announced that six counties will return to normal, with 15 counties in drought watch or drought warning.

Drought watch has been lifted for Berks, Chester, Clarion, Fayette, Lehigh, and Venango counties.

Adams, Bucks, Cameron, Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Lancaster, Lebanon, Montgomery, Northampton, and Perry counties remain on drought watch.

Clinton County will return to Drought Watch. Lock Haven City Authority and Suburban Lock Haven Water Authority in Clinton County are currently experiencing supply issues and have requested customers to reduce their water usage where possible.

York County will continue to be in drought warning to support the efforts of water suppliers and their customers to conserve water.

In addition to the multiple public water suppliers implementing voluntary or mandatory water conservation, we see lingering year-to-date precipitation deficits and a handful of groundwater wells that have not fully recovered.

For a map of drought declarations updated daily, see the DEP drought web page.

Residents on drought watch are asked to reduce their individual water use by 5 to 10 percent, or a reduction of three to six gallons of water per day. Residents on drought warning are asked to reduce their individual water use by 10 to 15 percent, or a reduction of six to nine gallons of water per day.